So, with a barbeque Tuesday night, i officially ended “Coming Out Season” until further notice. My friend that i talked about in this post was there, and while the partner and I were not very obvious, we weren’t exactly hiding either. The parents, too, are being clued in slowly.

Enough. It’s been fun and all, but really I think it might be time to get back to life in general. At least for a while.

So what’s left to talk about? Plenty.

Health care is on my mind at the moment. The partner (I need a code name for him for the blog) is getting himself ready, and then we head over to the hospital for him to have surgery. It’s a minor one, as surgery goes, but he’s quite nervous about it. First time and all. But what really gets me is the luck of it all. His is a work related injury, and he happens to work for a company that actually pays attention to such things.

We’ll drive through some of the most challenged nieghborhoods in the city on our way over…Cedar/Riverside Hospital sits right next to the projects built in the 60s, which somehow have still been left standing, even after mixed development and section 8. Do you think they get their operations done by the same Doc that treats the players of the Minnesota Twins? Have they got any insurance at all? Is there a word in Somali for Worker’s Comp?

I’m just glad that he’s gonna be okay. I’m just relieved that he’ll be taken care of.

I don’t want to feel selfish about that. Isn’t it about time we had some actual national health care?

-sly

