How long it was going to take. Meme’d. My first time, too.

I’m omitting any of the bad jokes that could follow. Really. And there’s absolutely no meta or fourth wall humor in pointing out that absence.

I started answering, and then i realized that without exception, every single answer could be the Bible. So just keep that in mind. My second choice answers are as follows.

1. One book that changed your life?

Location of Culture by Homi Bhabha. The first “theory” work that actually grabbed me. I’m cheating several articles and shorter works here, but I think it’s fair to give credit here.

2. One book you have read more than once?

Hotel New Hampshire, John Irving. I know, Irving isn’t exactly high art. But honestly, that’s what I like best about him. I read HNH because it’s about a whole bunch of people with no intrinsic purpose in life (contra Cider House Rules, for example) who are trying to make the best of things. Keep walking by open windows.

3. One book you would want on a desert island?

Anything by Hemingway. Probably a short story anthology. Big Two Hearted River is one of those stories that gets me to hope. That, or Post Rapture Radio by Russell Rathbun. Reminds me of home….a crazy, touching, right on critique made in love of the Church today. I read it to remember that I have a place in the church, no matter what gets said otherwise.

4. One book that made you laugh?

Lamb by Chris Moore. An oddly reverent book for how irreverent it is. A shockingly honest view of the human condition, and how amazing love is.

5. One book that made you cry?

Amazing Grace. It’s a collection of stories of faith written by queer folks, and has some of the most heart wrenching lines ever. My favorite is an exchange over the nature of sin. One young gay man tells another that he must confess his sin…an alarming statement for someone wounded by the church. The sin, however, is the one of ingratatude…for not being thankful for the life given and blessed by God. Yeah, I cried.

6. One book you wish you had written?

Cop out here. I don’t really wish for that, but I do wish I’d gotten more done on the thesis I wrote at the end of undergrad. It’s not a book. Yet.

7. One book you wish had never been written?

God, I’m enough of a hippie liberal to feel guilty even thinking about this. But…I might have to echo a few others and say Da Vinci Code. It makes riding on planes hell, since as soon as people find out I’m a Divvy, that’s the first thing they ask. I have to go with something inconsequential and asinine, since the rest is too important…for good or ill.

8. One book you are currently reading?

Re-reading Location of Culture, reading Killing Rage by bell hooks, and Orientalism by Edward Said. One book doesn’t really happen much to me. It’s always kind of a rotating mess.

9. One book you have been meaning to read?

My Greek textbook that has suffered so much neglect this summer. When i planned to get that head start for next semester, I didn’t count on being in a relationship. Oops.

Tagging more folks seems redundant at this point…so I’ll let this one go.

