It’s been a long time since I actually saw this one, but I’ve been reminded…

Go tell the Spartans, that here we lie in obedience to their laws.

Anyhow. I saw a review pan this the other day…and true to pattern these days, forgotten to book mark it. Doh.

The gist of it was that this is a movie that plays heavily on Orientalism…a quick review of the trailer hits you over the head with it.

“They came from the blackness!”

Oh, really?

The Persians are darker, multi-ethnic, effeminate, enslaved, and multilated. It’s eugenic race theory in a comic book movie form.

Instead, I give recommendation to Go Tell the Spartans, if you haven’t seen it. Slower paced, I’m sure…but a movie that is unflinching in showing the folly of war. It’s amazing to see now, a jingoistic movie extolling the virtue of war against the scary unfree Persians. Did I say amazing? I meant downright scary.

At least then, Hollywood had the good sense to tell the Spartans as full tragedy and not a heroic one. The old lie, indeed. Dulce et Decorum est pro patria mori.

Go tell the Spartans that we die here too because we didn’t get it the first time around.

-sc

