Morris was building this hard little god inside.

Sadly, I can’t pass this one off as my own. I’m hosting it here because it’s no longer at the website for the House of Mercy…but I assume that that’s oversight. And since I have a copy, y’all get to hear it. The author and voice on the tape is Russell Rathbun, a mentor and friend, and a damn quick wit.

Morris’ Hard Little God is about a man who has begun to starve, very quietly. And it is a sermon that very uniquely indicts me of all my sin, and begins to point towards grace.

At the very end, the sermon trails off…and I wish the recording went further. The ending was originally the words of institution, and the distribution of the bread and the wine:

On the night our Lord Jesus was betrayed, he took bread, and having given thanks, he blessed it, saying:

Take, eat, this is my body which is broken for you. Whenever you do this, do so in remembrance of me.

And after supper, he took the cup, and gave thanks. And he blessed it, saying:

Take, drink, this is my blood of the New Covenant, which is shed for you and for many for the forgiveness of sins. Whenever you do this, do so in remembrance of me.

I still remember that day. I have felt hungry ever since.

This is for gary, who is loving the world into a crisis of change.

-sly

